Wellington visit. 

I recently visited Wellington, Shropshire.

I went further up the high street towards the church.  Christchurch

I found some older buildings which were close to Christchurch Church. See photo below.


There was a road just past the houses to the church. I went up this next.


View of Christchurch Church.

I found an interesting headstone.


I did a little of research to find out more.  Thomas was the only son and child of this family. So quite sad story.

In 1861 census family were living at Jarratts Lane, Wellington. Parents were Henry and Sarah Bladen had a niece named Harriett Gears living with them as well as Thomas aged 10.

I then went back around the churchyard and came out by the houses and noticed this van.


The first building is the premises for this company. Interested me due to the name one of my families I research is Addison.

This family moved around from Child’s Ercall, Tibberton, Edgmond, Bolas.  On way back home I went also through Ketley which is also a place they lived there at time of 1901 census.

Leave a comment