Who do you think you are live 2017 

I recently visited Who do you think you are at NEC Birmingham.  I attended on the Saturday 8 April this was the last day for the event. 

I had two workshops on the day. My first one was for Bastardy the workhouse was very full.  This involved what is classed as a Bastard may have involved because the marriage before children born was invalid. Or the parents never married or one of them was already married to someone else. Also what records you can search these can involve parish chest records as settlement, removal and Bastardy records for the parish. There may have been an order for payment of the child or children. If they didn’t pay maybe prison was involved for non-payment. 

Most of the handouts for the talks are on the Society of Genealogists website see the link below. But the Bastardy is not included so far.  My other workshop was for Birmingham with Mike Sharpe about true brummies

http://www.sog.org.uk/learn/who-do-you-think-you-are-live-2014-speakers-handouts/

After this went around the stalls. 

My purchases were from BMSGH – Birmingham & Midland Society for Genealogy and Heralds.  I purchased a postcard book about Smethwick.

From SFHS Shropshire Family History Society I had 1851 census index and also the Burial index. 

From Pen and Sword booksellers and publishers I got Tracing Black Country Ancestors. 

2 thoughts on “Who do you think you are live 2017 

Leave a comment